2021 Western Australian of the Year Awards showcased true spirit of WA

Western Australia’s spirit was on show last night at the Annual West Australian Year of the Awards, held to celebrate the people making our State the vibrant, inclusive place we enjoy every day.
Attending the Gala Dinner with Deputy Opposition Leader Shane Love, Ms Davies said it was a special evening showcasing WA’s talent.
“It was a privilege to join past winners and finalists to learn about their contributions and aspirations for our State,” she said.
“At the core of our Western Australian spirit is a true desire to nurture relationships, lend a helping wherever needed and foster inclusive communities – I believe this spirit has been the driving force behind those nominated to give back to their people.”
Ms Davies said along with the categories ranging a span of fields it was also fantastic to see the diversity of finalists in age, experience, cultural background, sectors and location.
Ms Davies noted the winner crowned Western Australian of the Year Richard Goyder AO hailed from Tambellup.
“Mr Goyder has made a significant and enduring contribution to business, community, arts and sporting organisations and is a deserved winner,” she said.
Ms Davies also paid tribute to Kendall Whyte, recognised for her work on the Blue Tree Project to raise awareness about suicide and mental health and wellbeing.
“There’s over 600 blue trees painted to remind us all to
check in with friends and family – and it all started in the Wheatbelt,” she said.
“Honoring her brother Jayden has led to a nationwide movement working to reduce suicide in regional and rural areas where it is more than twice as likely for men to take their own lives.”
Whether a nominee, finalist or winner, Ms Davies said each individual was worthy of recognition.
“To the Western Australian of the Year Awards winners across the seven categories announced yesterday evening – thank you for your service to our State.”
2021 Western Australian of the Year Awards winners:
• Aboriginal Award – Karla Hart
• Arts & Culture Award – Alec Coles OBE
• Business Award – Julia Redwood
• Community Award – Richard Goyder
• Professions Award – Professor Jonathan Carapetis AM
• Sport Award – Murray McHenry
• Youth Award – Kendall Whyte